

Arizona State Board of Education

1700 W. Washington St. Executive Tower, Suite 300 Phoenix, AZ 85007

## **SBE Certification Appeal Application Packet**

An individual seeking an appeal of his/her certification decision is advised to read all the information about completing the SBE appeals packet before beginning the process.

General Appeal Information

The certification appeal process is available to an individual who has applied for certification and has been denied the requested certification due to the absence of certification requirements. The appeal process provides the applicant an opportunity to petition the State Board of Education to consider other factors and evidence in lieu of the missing certification requirements.

An appeal cannot be initiated until:

(a) an applicant has submitted a complete certification application to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE), Certification Unit;

(b) the application is reviewed by a certification specialist; and

(c) the applicant is notified that he/she is denied the requested certification. An applicant who is denied certification, but believes that he/she has legitimate grounds for appeal, may submit an Application for Certification Appeal to the Arizona State Board of Education (SBE).

An appeal must be received within 15 days from the date the certification denial was received. Only an individual who has been evaluated and denied certification is eligible to file an appeal.

Requirements for certification that are mandated by state or federal law cannot be waived through the appeal process.

### Appeal Timelines

An appeal may be received at any time within 15 days from the date that the certification denial was received. A hearing will be set based upon the receipt of the appeal and completed packet of materials.

All fully completed and properly assembled packets received in the ADE office prior to the posted deadline date for submission will be considered at an upcoming hearing. SBE staff will notify the applicant in writing of the date on which his/her appeal will be heard.

The certification appeal process is a multi-step process that can be initiated by an individual after the individual has received notification from ADE that their request for certification has been denied.

## Step 1: Application for Certification Appeal

The applicant completes an Application for Certification Appeal form and submits it along with any supporting documentation to <u>inbox@azsbe.az.gov</u> or through mail to Arizona State Board of Education, 1700 W Washington, Suite 300 Phoenix AZ 85007

- All items specified on the enclosed "Certification Appeals Checklist" must be submitted to <u>inbox@azsbe.az.gov</u>
- The following items are required as part of a complete application packet; the omission of any item must be carefully explained on the checklist form.

#### Completed Appeal Form followed by:

- 1. Cover letter explaining the reason for the appeal, and rationale why the appeal should be granted.
- 2. ADE Denial of Certification Letter.
- 3. Evaluation Form that accompanied the denial letter.
- 4. Completed Experience Verification Form.
- 5. Copy of Arizona Educator Certificate and/or Out-of-State teaching certificate.
- 6. Copy of official transcripts
- 7. Any other relevant documentation.



Materials are to be collated in the order on the checklist and submitted in submission. Please reduce any legal size documents to letter size on the copy only. Copies must be one-sided. The completed application packet should be mailed to:

ARIZONA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 1700 W WASHINGTON SUITE 300 PHOENIX AZ 85007 OR inbox@azsbe.az.gov **Questions** - If you have questions regarding your appeal application packet, you should contact the State Board of Education at 602-542-5057. Also you should contact the same office to make arrangements on attending the hearing. More information on the hearing is below.

**Note**: No appeal will be processed until all necessary documentation is received in the SBE office.

## Step 2: Staff Review

Arizona State Board of Education (SBE) staff review all appeal applications for completeness. Persons submitting incomplete applications will be notified by phone or mail as to the specific informational pieces missing from the packet. Incomplete applications will not be processed until all materials are received. Incomplete packets will be held for a maximum of one year. It is the responsibility of the applicant to secure all required information. SBE staff will not attempt to acquire any of the necessary information. Applications that are complete and meet all appeal requirements are prepared by SBE staff for presentation to the hearing officer who will consider the appeal.

# Step 3: Notification of Appeal Date and Time

SBE staff will notify applicants in writing of the date and location that the appeal will be heard. Because the burden of proof is on the person appealing the denied certification application, appellants are *strongly* encouraged to attend the hearing to make their case.

# Step 4: Appeal Hearing

At a hearing, an impartial hearing officer reviews the appeal and considers testimony and evidence from the Arizona Department of Education and the appellant. ADE will most likely be represented by an attorney from the Attorney General's Office. Appellants may also be represented by an attorney if they choose but are not required to have an attorney. The hearing officer will admit exhibits for consideration (e.g. the appeal packet, transcripts, etc) and will likely hear opening statements from both ADE and the appellant. Both parties can call witnesses to ask questions pertinent to the appeal. Both parties will make closing statements. The hearing officer then makes a recommendation to the Arizona State Board of Education (SBE) based on the requirements of the certificate found in rules and statutes. The hearing officer's recommendations do not indicate a final action on an appeal.

# Step 5: Arizona State Board of Education

The Arizona State Board of Education (SBE), in a meeting open to the public, makes the final decision on an appeal. It may adopt, reject, or modify recommendations made by the hearing officer. SBE cannot waive requirements imposed by state or federal laws, including the

requirement for proper scores on a teacher proficiency examination. SBE's action is based on documents submitted with the appeal. Written notification of SBE's final action will be sent to each applicant, usually within 7 working days after the meeting.



### **Arizona State Board of Education**

1700 W. Washington St. Executive Tower, Suite 300 Phoenix, Arizona 85007

### **APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION APPEAL**

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK

First	Middle	Last/Maiden	Ма	rried Name
Date of Birth/	_/	Educator EIN if applicable		
Address:				
Street		City	State	Zip Code
Phone: ()		E-Mail Address:		
Date of your Certification de	enial letter:	//		
1. Do you presently hold a If yes, please give the fo			No	

State Issuing Certification: \_\_\_\_\_ Type \_\_\_\_\_ EIN Number \_\_\_\_\_

2. Please fill out this table with college/university degree information:

Degree(s) Earned	Granting Institution	Year

3. Check which area below best describes the category of your certification appeal:

 

 Appeal for Initial Certification
 Appeal for Endorsement

 Appeal for Renewal of Lapsed Certificate
 Appeal for Interpretation

Appeal for Interpretation of Rule

4. Please summarize the reasons for the appeal:

NOTE: All materials in the appeal packet, except for performance evaluation reports, are subject to the Arizona Public Records Law and may be released for public inspection under provisions of that law.



## SBE Certification Appeal Checklist

### TO BE SUBMITTED BY THE APPLICANT

### Applicant Name: \_\_\_\_\_

### Please submit the following items:

Check each item that is enclosed and submit explanation of why any items were omitted.

Required Materials: Certification Appeal Checklist Form and the following:		Applicant Verification of Submitted Materials	For SBE office use only DATE RECEIVED
1.	Cover letter explaining your reason for the appeal, including rationale why appeal should be granted		
2.	Arizona Department of Education (ADE) Denial of Certification Letter		
3.	Evaluation Form that accompanied ADE Denial of Certification		
4.	Completed Application for Certification Appeal Form		
5.	Completed Certification Appeal Checklist		
6.	Completed Experience Verification Form		
7.	Copy of Official Transcripts		
8.	Copy of Arizona Educator Certificate and/or Out-of-State Certificate		
9.	Any other relevant documentation		

#### If any items listed above were omitted, please explain why: