



October 23 2023

Below are highlights from the State Board of Education's October 23rd meeting. Recordings of prior meetings are on <u>YouTube</u>.

The Board welcomed new Board member Anna Tovar. Member Tovar is a former teacher, former State Legislator, former Mayor of Tolleson and currently serves on the Arizona Corporation Commission. The Board is thrilled to have Member Tovar join them.

Earlier this year, the Board opened a nomination window for the Arizona State Board of Education's Student of the Month. The Board was excited to recognize Sarah Israel and Markayla Shirley as the Arizona State Board of Education's Students of the Month for October 2023.

Consent Agenda Items

The Board took action to approve items on the consent agenda.

A-F Letter Grades

The Board approved using the Prior Year Cut Scores to determine the 2022-2023 A-F Letter Grades. The approved cut scores are below.

K-8: Prior Year Option	n
------------------------	---

F		D		с		В		А	
min	max	min	max	min	max	min	max	min	max
0	46.99	47	59.99	60	71.99	72	83.99	84	100

9-12: Prior Year Option

F		D		С		В		А		
	min	max	min	max	min	max	min	max	min	max
	0	30.99	31	47.99	48	64.99	65	81.99	82	100

Alternative Schools: Prior Year Option

F		D		С		В		А	
min	max	min	max	min	max	min	max	min	max
0	28.99	29	46.99	47	64.99	65	82.99	83	100

President: Dr. Daniel Corr • Vice President: Katherine Haley Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tom Horne Jason Catanese • Jennifer Clark • Dr. Jacqui Clay • Dr. Scott Hagerman Julia Meyerson • Karla Phillips-Krivickas • Dr. Robert Robbins Executive Director: Sean Ross



Arizona State Board of Education 1700 W. Washington Street Executive Tower, Suite 300 Phoenix, Arizona 85007 Phone: (602) 542-5057 Website: azsbe.az.gov



The Board also approved the 2022-2023 Accountability Appeals Process and Procedures. The approved Appeals Process and Procedures is available on the Board's website <u>here</u> along with the appeals application link, appeals timeline, and other helpful resources.

Ad Hoc Special Education Evaluations Advisory Subcommittee

The Board took action create the State Board of Education Ad Hoc Special Education Evaluations Advisory Subcommittee.

Certification Actions

The Board took action to approve the voluntary surrender of educator certificates and the negotiated settlement agreements of relevant educators. Additionally, the Board adopted the findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations of the Professional Practices Advisory Committee (PPAC) to revoke the certificate of relevant educators, suspend the certificate for a period of one year with a requirement to undergo a fitness to teach evaluation of relevant educators, and table the disciplinary action against an educator until the December 2023 Board Meeting. Additionally, the Board denied the request for hearing and request for rehearing of relevant educators.

Educator Discipline Lookup

Prior to hiring both certified and non-certified educators, schools are required to check the Arizona Department of Education's (ADE) public-facing and internal systems for possible discipline or open investigations for immoral or unprofessional conduct.

To assist schools, the Board is providing a list of many of the educators who were disciplined at the most recent meeting. Please note that this information is only a snapshot of most educators who were disciplined at the most recent Board meeting and does not, in and of itself, satisfy the requirement for schools to check ADE's systems described above prior to hiring. Because educators have the right to appeal their disciplinary action, there may be an approximately 30-day lag in reporting some disciplinary action. To view the list please use this link: https://coabe837.caspio.com/dp/5a506000251753529c6846539a08.

Meeting Schedule

The next regular Board Meeting is scheduled for December 4th at 9am.

President: Dr. Daniel Corr ● Vice President: Katherine Haley Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tom Horne Jason Catanese ● Jennifer Clark ● Dr. Jacqui Clay ● Dr. Scott Hagerman Julia Meyerson ● Karla Phillips-Krivickas ● Dr. Robert Robbins Executive Director: Sean Ross