Alternative Accountability Technical Advisory Committee (AATAC)

A.R.S. § 15-241 directs the Arizona Department of Education to compile an annual achievement profile utilizing an A-F Letter Grade for each public school and local education agency subject to the final adoption by the State Board of Education (Board). The methodology to determine the A-F letter grade must be research-based and developed in collaboration with a coalition of qualified technical and policy stakeholders. Collectively, these stakeholders were referred to as the Accountability Advisory Group or AAG and met informally to assist in the development of the A-F Accountability System. To develop an accountability model for alternative schools, a dedicated advisory group had advised the state.

SB 1411, passed in the 2018 Legislative Session, requires the members of the stakeholder group to be appointed by the Board. Board staff worked with ADE to compile a list of qualified technical and policy stakeholders for appointment to the Alternative Accountability Technical Advisory Committee (ATAC). AATAC members serve three year terms and may be removed by the Board at any time.

Committee Structure

AATAC consists of 8 members with policy and technical backgrounds. If unable to attend a meeting, members may recommend a designee to attend in the member's place. The designee shall be approved by the President and Vice President of the Board.

Name	Organization	Term
Kellie Burns	Yavapai Accommodation School District	8/26/2024 - 8/23/2027
Binky Michelle Jones	Ombudsman Educational Services	8/26/2024 - 8/23/2027
Kelly Powell	Arizona Charter School Association	8/26/2024 - 8/23/2027
Mary Berg	Leona Group	8/26/2024 - 8/23/2027
Dr. Kristi Glassmeyer	Mesa Public Schools	2/24/2025 - 2/28/2028
Sue Durkin	International Commerce Secondary	8/26/2024 - 8/23/2027
	Schools	
Wayne Tucker	PPEP TEC High School	8/26/2024 - 8/23/2027
Harriet Caruso	Career Success Schools	8/26/2024 - 8/23/2027

<u>Members</u>