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R7-2-617. Other Professional Certificates 1 
A. All certificates are subject to the general certification provisions in R7-2-607 and the renewal 2 

requirements in R7-2-619. 3 
B. Standard Guidance School Counselor Certificate - grades PreK-12.  4 
 1. The school counselor certificate is optional but may be required by local governing 5 

boards.  6 
 2. The requirements are: 7 
 1. a. A master’s or more advanced degree, 8 
 2. b. Completion of a graduate program in guidance and counseling. A valid guidance 9 

counselor certificate from another state may substitute for this requirement, 10 
 3. c. valid fingerprint clearance card issued by the Arizona 11 
Department of Public Safety, and 12 
 4. d. One of the following: 13 
  a. i. Completion of a supervised counseling practicum in school counseling; 14 
  b. ii. Two years of verified, full-time experience as a school guidance counselor; or 15 
  c. iii. Three years of verified teaching experience. 16 
 3. The certificate may be renewed consistent with the provisions of R7-2-619 that may 17 

include continuing education in the area of college and career readiness.  18 
C. Standard School Psychologist Certificate - grades PreK-12 19 
 1. A standard school psychologist certificate is required for all personnel whose primary 20 

responsibility is in the role of a school psychologist providing services that include but are 21 
not limited to the duties of student psychoeducational assessment, therapeutic consultation 22 
and intervention, 23 

and involvement in the process of determination of student disabilities or disorders. 24 
 2. The requirements are: 25 
  a. A master’s or more advanced degree; 26 
  b. Completion of a graduate program in school psychology consisting of at least 60 27 

graduate semester hours, or completion of a doctoral program in psychology and 28 
completion of a re-training program in school psychology from an accredited institution or 29 
Board approved program with a letter of institutional endorsement from the head of the 30 
school psychology program; 31 

  c. A supervised internship of at least 1200 clock hours with a minimum of 600 of 32 
those hours in a school setting. Three years experience as a certified school psychologist 33 
within the last 10 years may be substituted for the internship requirement; and 34 

  d. A valid fingerprint clearance card issued by the Arizona 35 
Department of Public Safety. 36 
 3.  Any of the following may be substituted for the requirement described in subsection 37 

(C)(3)(b): 38 
  a. Five years experience within the last 10 years working full time in the capacity 39 

of a school psychologist in a school setting serving any portion of grades kindergarten 40 
through 12; or 41 

  b. A Nationally Certified School Psychologist Credential; or 42 
  c. A diploma in school psychology from the American Board of School 43 

Psychology. 44 
D. Standard Speech-Language Pathologist Certificate - grades PreK-12 45 
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 1. The standard speech-language pathologist certificate is required for school-based 1 
speech-language pathologists. 2 

 2. The certificate may be renewed consistent with the provisions of R7-2-619 with relevant 3 
professional development in the field of speech pathology, or professional development in 4 
the areas of articulation, voice, fluency, language, low incidence disabilities, curriculum 5 
and instruction, professional issues and ethics, or service delivery models. 6 

 3. The requirements are: 7 
  a. A master’s or more advanced degree, from an accredited institution, in speech 8 
pathology or communication disorders; 9 
  b. A minimum of 250 clinical clock hours supervised by a university or a speech-10 
language pathologist with a certificate of clinical competence; 11 
  c. A certificate of clinical competence, or a passing score on the national exam, or 12 
a passing score on the speech and language impaired special education portion of the Arizona 13 
Teacher Proficiency Assessment; and 14 
  d. A valid fingerprint clearance card issued by the Arizona Department of Public 15 
Safety. 16 
E. Standard Speech-Language Technician - grades PreK-12 17 
 1. The standard speech-language technician certificate is required for school-based speech-18 
language professionals. 19 
 2. No new applications for a speech-language technician certificate will be accepted after 20 
June 30, 2014. 21 
 3. The certificate may be renewed consistent with the provisions of R7-2-619 with 22 
professional development in the areas of articulation, voice, fluency, language disorders, low 23 
incidence disabilities, professional issues and ethics, or service delivery models. 24 
 4. The requirements are: 25 
  a. A bachelor's degree from an accredited program in Speech-Language Pathology, 26 
Speech Hearing Sciences, or Communication Disorders; 27 
  b. A minimum of 50 hours of university supervised observation; 28 
  c. A minimum of 150 university clinical clock hours, or 150 clock hours supervised 29 
by a master's level licensed speech-language pathologist, or two years’ experience as a school 30 
speech-language therapist or technician; 31 
  d. A passing score on the speech and language impaired special education portion 32 
of the Arizona 33 
Teacher Proficiency Assessment; and 34 
  e. A valid fingerprint clearance card issued by the Arizona Department of Public 35 
Safety. 36 
F. Standard School Social Worker Certificate - grades PreK-12  37 
 1. The standard School Social Worker certificate is optional but may be required by local 38 
governing boards. 39 
 2. The requirements are:  40 
  a. Master’s or more advanced degree in Social Work from an accredited institution 41 
or completion of a Board approved school social worker program;  42 
  b. A valid fingerprint clearance issued by the Arizona Department of Public Safety; 43 
and  44 
  c. One of the following:  45 
   i. Completion of at least 6 semester hours of practicum in Social Work in a 46 
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school setting completed through an accredited institution; or  1 
   ii. One year of full time experience as a Social Worker in a setting which 2 
primarily serves children in preschool through grade 12. 3 
 3. A valid, comparable School Social Worker certificate from another state may be 4 
substituted for the requirements of R7-2-617(F)(3) provided that the holder is in good standing 5 
with that state. 6 


